And on Tuesday, there was dessert…

So last night I went to Val’s to make dinner and hang out with Dawn before she moves to North Carolina.  Soooo proud of that girl, she is moving down there knowing almost no one and she will have a great job and live very close to the beach! 

I stuck to the diet and made a lowfat dinner, Mexican Steak Lettuce Wraps.  It’s a recipe I constructed for the first time last night, and I’m not 100% pleased with it.  It needed… something else.  The girls said it was delicious but I need to refine it more.  As a result, I won’t be posting it to the recipes page until I figure out what else to do with it.  The vegetables and lettuce together were delicious, but the sauce needed to have another dimension of flavor that it didn’t have.  Depending on how much steak you use (I only had about 4-5 very thin strips), the dinner is pretty good for you (306 cals, 9g fat, 23g protein), but maybe it would be a better dinner with pork.  This is the downfall to cooking.  Not EVERYTHING is going to be AMAZING.  It’s trial and error.  The important thing is I stuck to the diet mentality while cooking and made a healthy meal for the three of us girls.

Because it was a celebration and I don’t believe in deprivation, I had a glass and a half of red wine, which added 194 calories to my day.  And Dawn made this *AMAZING* dessert called Death By Chocolate which I’m assuming was over 400 calories per serving.  Again, a celebration and how can you not taste something called that?!  I’m definitely getting the recipe from her to see if I can make it a little lower fat but it was unbelievably delicious.

Listen, I set out to blog my weight loss journey because I want to prove to you all that you don’t have to eat crappy diet food, deprive yourself, and feel miserable without energy, to lose weight.  Last week, I had 2 slices of pizza.  This week, I had some wine and some Death By Chocolate.  Maybe I’d lose another pound if I didn’t have that stuff, but I don’t care.  It’s about control, and I never once felt guilty or out of control.  Food doesn’t rule me, but it does rule some people because they have a bad relationship with it.  That’s why the Cinch plan works so well for people of any size.  When you’re basing a diet off science and the glycemic index, you’re really working with a person’s insides so that they can in effect change their relationship with food.  When I’m using the Cinch plan I feel the most in control of my day.  You really can’t get anything more nutritionally complete than a Cinch shake, meal bar, or snack.  And supporting your diet with a multivitamin like 3-in-1 Boost is the best thing a person trying to lose weight can to do give themselves an extra edge.  It’s like getting a multivitamin, glucose regulators, and Energy tea all in one! 

Anyway, I’ll get off my Cinch soapbox now.  I had some chocolate and red wine last night, and I enjoyed every minute of it.  Tonight I have a soccer game after kickboxing so I will basically get yesterday’s workout in anyway.  We should still see a fairly major calorie deficit for the week.

Leave a Reply

